Superintendent's Office

State Board Honors “Those Who Excel” at Annual Banquet

Four staff members, a team and a Board of Education member from Woodstock District 200 were among those honored recently by the Illinois State Board of Education (ISBE). State education officials honored 250 outstanding Illinois educators on October 22nd at the 41st annual Those Who Excel/Teacher of the Year banquet in Normal. District 200 is proud to have the following among this year’s honorees:

  • John Headley, Teacher at Woodstock High School
    Classroom Teacher – Award of Merit
  • Maggie Jensen, Library Media Specialist at Olson Elementary School
    Student Support Personnel – Award of Merit
  • Sue Malley, Director of Food Services
    Educational Service Personnel – Award of Merit
  • Paul J. Meyer, Member, D200 Board of Education
    School Board Member – Award of Excellence
  • Travis Mohr, Teacher at Clay Academy
    Early Career Educator – Award of Recognition
  • SHAPE Woodstock, Carol M. White PEP Grant Team
    Represented by: Melinda Etnyre and Rob Mecklenburg
    Team – Award of Merit

Local school district leaders and members of school communities nominate candidates for Those Who Excel recognition. A committee of peers, organized through ISBE, chooses the award winners. Statewide education organizations are represented on the committee, which includes former award winners.

“These educators have distinguished themselves for their exceptional work in their respective fields,” said Cinda Klickna, Illinois Education Association president. “These award recipients represent true excellence and their students are indeed lucky to have them in their lives.”

For more information on ISBE’s Those Who Excel program, please visit



Web design and development by Xeno Media, Inc.